Moksha Yoga

Since I found my yoga home, I haven’t been going to other studios very much. Since I became a member at Pure, it doesn’t make much sense to pay another studio for classes when I have unlimited yoga at “home”.

However, Friday night, I went to a karma class with my new friend Emily at the Moksha studio. It was only six dollars, and the money was going to charity, so I was good with that.

I had never done a Moksha class. From what I read on the website, it’s a series of standing postures and then a floor series. It made me think of Bikram, but apparently, Moksha teachers are encouraged to put their own spin on things. I figured for six bucks, I had nothing to lose.

My first impression of the studio was not that great. It was a beautiful lobby, but we were greeted with “Last name?” No hello or anything. We were then asked if we had pre-registered online. We hadn’t and class was full, so we were put on a waiting list. I had no problem with this, since it was not their fault, however, they told us at exactly 7:30 that there was room for us. Class started at 7:30 so we made a mad dash to the changing room, dumped our stuff and tried to be discreet as we entered the hot room. It was the most crowded room I had ever seen. There was no room for us. Finally, the teacher found us spots, but it was the most stressful moment of my day.

My spot turned out to be right by the door. Class started in savasana. Try to relax when all you can imagine is someone walking in and smashing the door into your head. We did a supine twist and were told to cactus our arms since there was no way we were stretching out. I didn’t even have room for cactus arms. I looked like some sad, unwatered house plant.

When the standing series started, I was pleasantly surprised. We did a lot of poses I really enjoy, like tree and eagle. People seemed to really be struggling, but to be honest, the room did not feel that hot to me. The poses felt a little easier than normal, probably because I’m used to flowing between each pose. Obviously, poses like chair and standing splits weren’t a walk in the park, but I didn’t need any breaks.

We actually got a savasana in between the standing poses and the floor series. I wasn’t as worried about a possible door/head collision, but I was still thinking about it.

The floor series was ok. Some cobras, table where you reach back with one arm and hold on to the opposite foot, then some core stuff. More savasana, then the teacher told us to take all the time we needed before heading out. This made me laugh. I could just imagine myself not moving from my spot in front of the door, telling people “I’m not done being zen here. I’m taking the time I need. Please wait.”

I enjoyed the class, but I’m not sure I enjoyed the studio enough to go back. It’s ok, I have Pure, so I’m not yoga-homeless!

One thought on “Moksha Yoga

  1. emilydickinsoncu says:

    I wish I could have brought you to a class during the day (that’s not 6 dollars) so you could feel the real vibe of Moksha! It has been my yoga home for a few years, and I generally leave feeling like I left a spa! But I have recently been going to other studios and noticing that people are a lot nicer to me elsewhere. Being with you made me see it differently! I was just used to the unfriendlyness. At the same time, I love Moksha flow classes, I really enjoy some of the teachers, and those showers are so damn great…it would be hard to give up! Thanks for coming with me though. I need to try Pure!

Leave a Reply

