Are you a grown up?

Working with kids means you get asked a lot of questions. “Are you a grown-up?” is one of them. Over the years, I’ve had quite a few funny conversations with my students. I teach six to nine year olds, so I laugh a lot!

***

G and C are talking about how many teeth they’ve lost.

G: (Asks me) How many teeth have you lost?

Me: I’ve lost all my baby teeth.

C: Well yes, but that’s because you’re almost an adult.

***

Me: E, what are you going to be when you grow up?

E: A veterinarian. What are you going to be when you grow up?

Me: I’m already grown up.

E: Well, what’s your job?

Me: I’m a teacher.

E: I know you’re a teacher, but what’s your job?!

***

I’m giving a lesson on animals when K’s hand goes up.

Me: K, it’s not time for questions yet.

K: But it’s not a question, it’s an answer!

***

M: What do you want for Christmas?

Me: A giraffe.

M: You could probably find one on kijiji.

***

I’m having a latte while the kids are in gym class. I knock it over and I’m wiping the floor when a student walks in and says “This is what you do when we’re not here? You wash the floor?”

***

S: Do you live with your mom and dad?

Me: No.

S: Do you live with your kids?

Me: I don’t have kids.

S: Well if you’re not a kid and you’re not a mom, what are you?

***

I sneeze.

C: You’re like my dog.

***

After a 4-day weekend.

C: Let’s see each other tomorrow, because I don’t like long breaks when I don’t see you.

***

A. was saying hello to everyone as they came through the door. I told her she was like the greeter at Walmart. She started saying “Hello, welcome to Walmart.”

***

Me: C, I hope you work this hard at home when you do your homework.

C: No, at home I yell and throw my papers on the floor.

***

Me: This movie is great. I used to watch it when I was little.

P: But I thought old movies were silent?

***

Me: Once I lost my voice and had to write notes to my students all day.

S: Oh cool, I hope you get sick and it happens again.

***

Me: Do you need help figuring out the problem?

M: No, I need the answer.

***

I’m wearing jeans and my hair is up in a ponytail.

L: What’s wrong with you? This is not your style!

***

4 thoughts on “Are you a grown up?

Leave a Reply

