Blue and green

When I was little, we used to always say “blue and green should never be seen, except in the washing machine”. We later added “and at camp” because at camp, anything goes! Funny how fashion rules change. Blue and green are great together.

Today, I wore an outfit inspired by Zooey Deschanel. Who else, right?

blueandgreen

I really like the way it turned out, and I think my students did too, because they kept commenting on it. Some of the girls will comment sometimes, but today, it was ongoing throughout the day. The kids’ comments are usually positive, and always brutally honest. For example, last week, one of my first graders said “Your hair looks nice when it’s all tangled.” Umm, thanks.

This is a sample of what I heard today:

You’re pretty.

Last time you wore that dress, you didn’t wear blue.

It’s like an outfit, because your shoes are blue, your belt is blue and you sweater is blue.

Your dress is green, but that’s ok.

I’ve seen those shoes before.

I like your small sweater.

IMG_6183

The little girls comment much more than the boys. I’m not sure if it’s because they don’t notice, or they don’t particularly care. I think it’s a mix of both. Some things will always stay the same! To be fair, last week one six year old boy said “Wow! That’s a nice scarf!” He’s the same kid who once told me I looked like a ladybug, so I think he notices some stuff.

I had the dress, the shoes and the sweater for this outfit, I was just missing a belt, so I decided to make one. I made it while watching New Girl. I know, perfect, right?

IMG_6168

It was pretty simple. Lots of tutorials I looked at mentioned sewing hooks or snaps to close the belt. You could do that, or you could do what I did, which is use safety pins. Much easier!

bowbelt

I’m not usually a big fan of belts. I can’t remember the last time I wore a belt that actually had a purpose, they’re mostly just decorative. I’ll put one on in the morning, because it looks cute, but after I get to work, it feels like it starts to tighten around me like a boa constrictor. I then yank it off and throw it in my bag. By the end of the week, I have a collection in there. This belt, however, lasted the whole day.

I really like this dress. I’ve only worn it once before (without any blue, like one student pointed out). It has a nice detail in the back. Today, it wasn’t very warm, so I kept my sweater on and no one really saw the back. Well, there was an intense 15 minutes where I was trying to punch out a million butterflies out of scrapbook paper to make mother’s day cards in the class this afternoon, and my heart rate went up because the stupid punch wasn’t punching and I had to put a lot of effort into it and I got really hot and took my sweater off.

IMG_6187

I think blue and green work really well together, don’t you?

10 thoughts on “Blue and green

  1. Suzanne says:

    This dress is so pretty, love the detail on the back. So glad you got a workout in today as well, prepping those butterflies, sounds like hard work! hahaha

Leave a Reply

