Apple picking

On Sunday, I went apple picking! I love fall, and I’m one of those people who has a list of awesome fall activities that I just have to do so my season feels complete. Apple picking is definitely at the top of the list.I’m a picky eater and I don’t like a lot of fruit. I eat a lot, but of the same kind. It’s usually more about texture than taste. I do love apples and eat them all the time. If I don’t have any, I feel an urge to run to the store. These sudden I-need-an-apple attacks can happen at any moment. Luckily, I now have a million apples, so I’m good for a couple of weeks. Maybe.

I went to an apple orchard that was about an hour and a half away with some friends. I was wondering why we were going so far, when there are orchards much closer to home, but when we got there, I figured it out. It was beautiful. I think it’s probably hard to find an ugly apple orchard, but still, it was lovely.

105

007

009

015

This baby is trying to steal my apples!

This baby is trying to steal my apples!

I tried to take a nice picture with my friend Adèle, but it took a while.

Something was really funny. I can't remember what it was. But it was funny, I promise.

Something was really funny. I can’t remember what it was. But it was funny, I promise.

It's still funny.

It’s still funny.

It's really hard to take a bad picture when you're surrounded by apples.

It’s really hard to take a bad picture when you’re surrounded by apples.

Me being me, I decided what this apple picking expedition need was some yoga poses.

We're apple trees. Get it?!

We’re apple trees. Get it?!

This is half-moon pose, which I have re-named apple pie pose for the occasion.

This is half-moon pose, which I have re-named apple pie pose for the occasion.

Note: This is not the half-moon pose that injured my butt. This is it’s much gentler, nicer, no butt-muscle pulling twin.

After the apples, we decided we hadn’t had enough of fall (is that even possible?) so we headed out to pick some pumpkins and squash.

These are called ghost pumkins or ghost greys or something spooky like that.

150

The baby's not afraid of them, I guess they're ok.

The baby’s not afraid of them, I guess they’re ok.

Running off to find the perfect pumpkin!

Running off to find the perfect pumpkin!

Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere.

Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere.

Too big!

Too big!

Too small!

Too small!

Just right!

Just right!

Here is a picture of lots of different kinds of squash I don't like. I don't like squashes. These are not mine. I just took the picture.

Here is a picture of lots of different kinds of squash I don’t like. I don’t like squashes. These are not mine. I just took the picture.

Pretty sunflowers.

Pretty sunflowers.

They're even prettier when you add in a beautiful little girl!

They’re even prettier when you add in a beautiful little girl!

After all the squash fun, we went to an Abbey where I bought honey, caramel and chocolate. Not a bad day for sweet things.

I now have many, many apples that I have slowly started to turn into delicious apple amazingness. There is more to come, including apple pie, apple sauce, apple juice, apple crisp, apple muffins, apple cookies, apple cake, apple bread, apple butter and apple turnovers. Did I forget anything?

5 thoughts on “Apple picking

  1. ksujulie says:

    How fun! Where do you live? It’s still warm here for apple picking. I’m freaked out about the texture of fruit too. Good! I’m not the only one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

