Tea and scones

When I went to Ireland and Scotland a few years ago, one of the things I loved, loved, loved was how there were tea and scones to be had everywhere, all the time! I’m not a coffee drinker, and I love tea. Plus, who doesn’t love scones? Since it rained all the time, it was nice to cozy up with a cup of tea and a plate of scones.

This weekend was a very tea and scones weekend for me. I made them gluten free, which made them turn out a little less fluffy than regular scones, but they were still buttery and delicious!

I’m not a fan of jam, so I made a perfect substitute. Think apple pie filling. Amazing.

014

015

016

019

020

I used this recipe for the scones. It was very easy and quick. The apple pie filling was even simpler to make.

Apple pie filling

1-2 apples, peeled and cut

1-2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix ingredients together. Microwave for two minutes. Stir. If too liquid, add half a teaspoon of flour. Mix and microwave for one minute. Stir and serve.

One thought on “Tea and scones

Leave a Reply

