First day of yoga teacher training

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a first day of school where I was the student and not the teacher.

Today was my first day of yoga teacher training.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d gotten a lot of tips and advice. I was also told that I would have breakthroughs and breakdowns. I was told that my head might explode from all the information and that I would either come home and become a hermit after a long day, or just be filled with the need to talk to someone, anyone, about anything but yoga.

So far, after one day, none of this has happened.

I was a little worried that everyone would be flexi-bendy-straw people and I would be standing there like a popsicle stick. But, honestly, I didn’t notice anyone else’s flexibility. During all of the practice we did, I was so interested by what I was learning and trying to figure out how to apply this new knowledge to my poses that I wasn’t looking around at anyone else.

I also learned that I’ll get to go home a little earlier than I thought each day, which is great, because I’ve spent so long on a school schedule that I don’t remember anything anyone says to me after 3:30. However, it’s not time to go to the beach, but time for homework. Today, I read about anatomy and muscles I had never heard of. I’m going to be so smart.

I also got to experience something new today. Getting stuck in traffic. How do people do this every day? And why? If I had to do this every day, I’d move. I didn’t know what to do with myself, so I ate a muffin and an apple. (I had brought a big lunch because I didn’t know how hungry yoga teacher training makes a person. For the record, it makes you regular hungry.) I would have eaten something else, but I couldn’t reach my crackers. I might weigh a ton at the end of this challenge.

I was pretty happy not to have to teach any poses yet. I know it was only the first day, and that I will eventually have to speak to the whole group and lead a class, but I’m glad it wasn’t today. I need a little more time to get ready for that.

I’m looking forward to the next 27 days! (The yoga, not the traffic induced weight gain.)

13975_490408790996299_1801587479_n

4 thoughts on “First day of yoga teacher training

  1. Annie says:

    ” I’m going to be so smart.” — love it 🙂
    Traffic sucks and everytime I get stuck in it I think just like you. We did swim in westboro every friday at 2 — so we were in some traffic every friday afternoon. NOT the best way to kick off the week-end, every week-end!!

    ENJOY!!! and if you do need beach buddies to talk about anything-but-yoga — we’re mostly available for dates 🙂

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks you! It’s very exciting and I’m learning so much! Sometimes, it’s a lot to take in, but I have to remind myself that I’m not supposed to “get it” all at once. It’s helping me learn to be more patient with myself, that’s for sure. I can’t wait to read about your training when it starts!

Leave a Reply

