A mini-break

This has been a really great weekend for several reasons. Wine and friends on a patio Friday night, then a beach day with those same awesome girls on Saturday (we didn’t go in the water, it was too cold!) and a mini-break from my 30 day yoga challenge.

I didn’t want to skip a day in my challenge, so last Wednesday, I did two classes and got to spend today, father’s day, with my dad.

Sometimes, I hear people say how they’ve become like their parents, and they’re horrified, like it’s the worse thing that could ever happen to them. I don’t get it. My parents are awesome.

I am my father’s daughter and I couldn’t be happier. He’s funny and smart and the nicest person you could possibly meet. He’s kind. He loves kids. Once, when my sister was younger, her friends came over to ask my dad to help get someone out of a tree. My sister wasn’t home, but those kids knew my dad would be more than happy to help.

When my dad is interested in something, he likes to learn everything there is about it. When I was little, he knew more about fishing than anyone I’d ever met. He’s the best poker player I know (he taught me how to play, and I play well enough not to embarrass myself!) When I decided to sign up for yoga teacher training, wanting to know more about this practice I love so much, my mom said I was just like my dad. She’s right. When I love something, I give it all I’ve got. It makes me happy and I’m grateful to my dad for giving me that.

This mini-break from my yoga challenge has given me time to relax and focus on other things I love, like my family.

Joyeuse fête des pères Pop!

005

2 thoughts on “A mini-break

  1. Three Well Beings says:

    You’ve really written a lovely tribute to your father. A good father is a wonderful gift across a lifetime. And I also really love yoga, although I am not an instructor–I do love my teacher, though! 🙂 I am intrigued with your 30 day challenge. I hope you’ll continue to post about that. Debra

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks for your kind words. My dad is wonderful, and I am very lucky to have him.

      My 30 day challenge is a lot of fun, but it’s also quite challenging! The studio is hosting it, and everyone who does the full 30 days gets a chance to win 3 months of free yoga!

Leave a Reply

