Lemon chicken salad

You know when you do something awesome, totally without even realizing it? Well, this isn’t exactly one of those stories, but sort of.

On Sunday, I was trying to make up for the rest of the weekend’s indulgences by throwing some chicken in the slow cooker before I left to spend the afternoon with my friend Suzanne. I was thinking I would come home and have some nice healthy chicken. Well, what really happened was that I ate at a pub and then at Dairy Queen, so when I got home, I wanted nothing to do with that chicken, even though it smelled delicious!

I needed something for my lunch the next day, so I cubed the now cooled chicken, cooked some quinoa and bulgar, and tossed it all together with the broth from the crock pot. Wow! A-ma-zing.

004

007

I had tossed some garlic gloves in the slow cooker with the chicken, and they turned green. According to Google, this is because of the acid in the lemon juice.

006

For a salad that happened by accident, it could not have been more delicious! I’ve had it cold and warmed up, and both were delicious. Enjoy!

Lemon chicken salad

In slow cooker:

– 2 chicken breasts

– juice and zest from 1 lemon

– a few garlic cloves

– 1 tablespoon dried oregano

– 1 tablespoon parsley

– 1/4 cup water

– salt and pepper to taste

Cook until chicken is done, then cool and cube. Toss with quinoa, bulgar and broth from the crockpot. I would have added nuts to this, but I was going to eat it at school, and some kids have allergies.

3 thoughts on “Lemon chicken salad

Leave a Reply

