The dream I didn’t know I had

When I tell people I don’t like public speaking, they’re usually surprised. I get it. I talk a lot. Also, I’m a teacher. It’s my job to speak to a group all the time.

The thing is, I work with children. They are beautiful, non-judgemental, loving, tiny people. They are curious and believe everything that you tell them, because they don’t expect you to lie. They are, quite often, what adults should be.

I try to live my life the same way I teach: Expect people to listen without judgement, laugh as often as possible and be patient. It’s not always easy, because we all know that some people didn’t get the memo about being nice and all that stuff.

I’m going somewhere with this, I promise. But first, let me change the subject.

My first contact with yoga was when I was in college, 12 years ago. (Wow, I’m old.) I didn’t particularly care for it. It was ok, and that was it. Then, I started practicing about six years ago. This time, I was much more interested, but it was still a very sporadic practice. A couple of years ago is when I discovered how much I love it. I can’t imagine my life without yoga now.

If you put public speaking and yoga together you get….teaching yoga!

I have officially signed up for yoga teacher training! I never would have imagined this is where my life would take me. I’m not even sure I want to teach, all I know is that I want more yoga. I don’t just want to know how to do a pose, I want to know why to do it. The asanas are just the tip of the iceberg and I am ready to dive in with every part of myself.

I’m so excited, I don’t know how I’ll wait until July!

These are some of the pictures I posted last summer in an effort to counter all the negative “thinspo” pictures out there. I feel like they represent my feelings toward teacher training: joy, fear, excitement, determination, happiness. Also, let’s not forget to have fun!

crow

headstand

scared

yoga

15 thoughts on “The dream I didn’t know I had

  1. Annie says:

    so fantastic!!! can’t wait to see what comes of this — even if it’s not teaching… plus, you’ve already got experience, my kids think you’re the coolest yoga teacher ever ever ever. even if you don’t love dragon pose. (this comes up often at our house, by Alexandre mostly.) where are you doing the training? and why july specifically? is it intensive? or it starts in july for months?

    • The Bliss Project says:

      haha, I love your kids! They are so going to go to yoga classes when they’re older and wonder why they dislike dragon pose so much!

      It’s an intensive program, from July 4th to the 31st, so it’s going to be a lot to absorb in a short period of time, but it works so well with my schedule. It’s with some AMAZING teachers from Pure, so I am very, very excited!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      It is sooo exciting! I feel like I can’t sit still, like I’m waiting for Christmas morning! Come on summer! (Well, I’ll take Spring first. It’s supposed to snow on Friday, 15cm! I think I’ll try your italian sausage soup!)

      I think one of the reasons I love working with kids so much is because they remind me of how wonderful people can be. I would be a lot more sarcastic and laugh a lot less if I didn’t spend my days with them. We can learn a lot from them!

      • the usual bliss says:

        I taught preschool for a handful of years and it was my best job. I love those little voices saying such funny and honest things. If you make the soup, let me know how it goes!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thank you, I’m very excited. I never thought I would be here either, and all of a sudden, I am! I always thought I wouldn’t do a teacher training, because I was afraid it would make my practice seem like work, but now, I don’t feel like that at all, I just want more yoga!

Leave a Reply

