Lucky Star

You know how people say “I thank my lucky stars”? It makes sense. We wish on stars (well, I do), so why not thank them when we get what we want? You know what’s even better than getting what you want? Getting what you didn’t even know you wanted.

I write a lot about yoga and about Pure, the studio where I practice. It’s my yoga home, my happy place, my favourite place to be. But my love affair with yoga started long before Pure opened a year ago. I used to be a yoga nomad, wandering around, going to different classes at different studios.

At one particular class, a Madonna flow party, to be exact, I met Natalie. I thank my lucky stars I went to that class, on that day. Natalie is a yoga teacher who became a friend. She’s a big part of the reason I fell in love with yoga. I was already pretty into it, but practicing with Natalie felt like a perfect fit. I was challenged, I laughed, I discovered so much about myself and my practice.

Now that I practice at my happy place, I don’t see Natalie as much as I would like. She teaches at different studios. The perfect thing would be for her to teach at Pure. How happy I would be!

Today, however, I got to attend one of Natalie’s amazing ashtanga classes set to the music of Madonna. I’ve written about it before, here and here. I’m writing about it again, because it’s just so unbelivably incredible!

Imagine how open your heart is in a chair pose twist when you’re singing “open your heart to me”. I kid you not, that actually happened.

Natalie and I took a before class picture, when we all pretty and not sweaty. I wore my bow during the entire class. It got a little sweaty, but it’s the only time I get to wear a huge lace bow, so it stayed on. I brought Natalie a bow too.

001

We also took an after class picture, where Natalie looks as fresh and lovely as when we started and I look like I went through a car wash. I do, however, love the way my hair ended up in a side pony. Very 80’s Madonna-ish.

002

The only thing that kept this evening from being totally perfect was the fact that my friend Julie wasn’t there. We always went to these things together, but she’s busy being awesome in Abu Dhabi. Hopefully when she comes home for the summer, Natalie will have another funky Madonna flow!

3 thoughts on “Lucky Star

Leave a Reply

