The reading list I will never finish

If you’re a book lover like me (I also answer to bookworm) you have a reading list that never ends. That’s because you add to it faster than you can read, even if you’re a fast reader. I’m always asking people for recommendations and writing down book titles or author’s names on little pieces of paper. I sometimes lose the paper, only to find it later. It seriously feels like finding 20$ in a coat from last winter!

This week’s prompt from The Broke and the Bookish is the top ten series I’d like to read, but haven’t started yet.

1. The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis

It still surprises me that I haven’t read this series yet. It seems like something I would have enjoyed when I was younger, which means I’ll still like it when I get to it!

2. The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien

Before the movies came out, I asked for this series for Christmas and I got it. However, I wanted to read the Hobbit first. I only made it about halfway through the Hobbit before I lost interest, so I never made it to The Lord of the Rings. I’ve been meaning to read them, but there are so many books and so little time!

3. The Mortal Instruments, Cassandra Clare

I’ve actually read three of these books. I thought it was supposed to be a trilogy, so I figured I had read the whole series. But then the author came out with two more books, which I haven’t read. The thing is, I would have to read the first three again to remember everything that has happened before I read the last two!

4. Le goût du bonheur, Marie Laberge

This is a trilogy by a author from Québec which I’ve had in my posession for years. Again, there is no reason why I haven’t read them! Everyone says the books are wonderful. I believe them, I just haven’t gotten around to reading them yet.

5. The Stephanie Plum novels, Janet Evanovich

Again, a series I’ve started, but haven’t finished. To be fair, I think there are now 18 books in this series. I’ve read eight or nine. My friend Lisa is the one who’s been lending them to me, so it’s kind of her fault that I haven’t finished the series!

6. The Caster Chronicles, Kami Garcia and Magaret Stohl

Another series I’ve started. I read Beautiful Creatures and just bought the second one, Beautiful Darkness. There definitely weren’t as many vampire/witch/supernatural series and books when I was a teenager. Everytime I go to the teen section of the bookstore, I think of 14 year old me. She would have been in paradise.

7. Les Chevaliers d’Émeraude, Anne Robillard

Another series by an author from Québec. I’m not sure what it’s all about, but I know there is magic and adventure. It’s written for teens, but I know many adults who’ve read and enjoyed the series.

I can’t think of any more series that I absolutely want to read. Books, yes, but not whole series. I’ll probably think of them as soon as this post is published.

There is, however, one series I would put on an opposite list. Maybe something called “A series I will never finish because I hated the first book even if hate is a strong word for books and I didn’t really have to finish it but I did because I hoped it would get better.” Maybe I need to work on the title.

And that series is…

The Millennium series, Stieg Larson

Most people disagree with me on this one, but I intensly disliked The girl who played with fire. I read the whole thing and it took me months. The ending made me mad. I didn’t get it. I even asked my sister if she really liked it, for real, or if she was just saying that because everyone was raving about the book. She said she actually enjoyed it. Whatever. I didn’t.

What’s on your series to read list?

005

11 thoughts on “The reading list I will never finish

  1. hermanchad says:

    That is sooo soooo funny. I was thinking about this exact thing a few days ago. I pile books on like they are layers to a wedding cake. Those books are then piled on one of the 4 bookshelves I have (I have dreams of a round room with books to the ceiling and a rolling ladder…sigh)and I slowly read each one. It is not unnatural for me to have 2-3 books going at once.

    In site of this idea…I suddenly realized I’ve amassed a wealth of biblical knowledge that directly aligns itself with my blog, my business, and the general view that we have the ability to change the world. What better way to inspire and give gifts of transformation then through reading and books.

    So..watch for my new series…starting very very soon….of the top 15 books every person has to read. Just to add to your growing list of books you need to read. 🙂

    By the way…I love your blog!!!

  2. Em D. says:

    I only read the first book of Les Chevaliers d’Émeraude, but it’s a series I really would like to start again. I don’t remember why I stopped reading it, since the first book was excellent. Great list!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks! I have the first book of Les Chevaliers d’Émeraude, i just haven’t gotten around to it! I also don’t know why, everyone says it’s really good! Any suggestions to add to my list? There’s always room for more books!

  3. YarnMama says:

    Lol, I was thinking this exact thing not two days ago. I was scrolling through the latest list of free kindle books and asking myself “why?” I have a collection of far too many books (real and electronic) that the last thing I need is more! But your book collection and my own are spookily similar, but toss on the Screwtape Letters to my “short list”.

  4. helsjn says:

    Read The Mortal instruments. And the infernal devices. in publication order. your life will never be the same again. 😀

Leave a Reply

