Monday morning yoga

It’s Monday and I’m not at work. It’s March break, that week just before spring when teachers become human again, just in time to finish the school year.

I love my job and I adore my students, but a little break is a good thing. For me and for them. They deserve a teacher who’s well rested and patient. That’s what they’ll get. In one week. Until then, it’s all about me, me, me!

I wanted to go to a yoga class this morning, mostly because I normally can’t make it until late afternoon or evening. I woke up at 5:30 am and couldn’t go back to sleep. I was all “Go back to sleep! There’s no work today!” It took a while, but I got back to sleep just in time to wake up again for yoga.

This is probably very bad, but I didn’t have breakfast before class. I didn’t have time and I didn’t want to eat in the car, because that could have disastrous consequences during class.

I always like to notice the differences in my practice, depending on the time of day I find myself in the hot room. Now, I’m not very flexible, but this morning everything felt tighter than ususal. Is this a morning thing? Normally, I’ve been walking around all day before I practice, so my muscles have warmed up. This is my theory.

It was a flow class and I enjoyed every minute of it. Part of it had to do with the fact that it was a great class, but also, it was knowing that I had the whole day stretched out in front of me, with nothing that I absolutely had to do.

During a child’s pose break, I was trying very hard to stay connected to my practice, because it’s so much harder to get back into it if you let your mind wander too much. However, I was hungry and I started planning what I would have for breakfast (a smoothie with tofu and raspberries). However, when I got home, I wanted oatmeal with apples and cinnamon.

Now, I’m enjoying my free Monday. Bliss.

13975_490408790996299_1801587479_n

Leave a Reply

