Enjoy the moment

There are few moments in life where it’s good to be selfish. Really and truly selfish. Where it’s all about you and only you.

Today, as I started a power yoga class, Laurie, the awesome teacher, told us to be selfish. That’s never been the word that comes to mind when I think about yoga. But it makes sense. When I’m on my mat, it’s my yoga, my practice, my time. When I’m off my mat, I live my yoga differently. It’s about community and sharing. It feels good to be selfish every once in a while.

My energy level today was medium. Medium low, actually. I planned on just doing what I could and sitting out whatever I didn’t feel like doing. I imagined it would involve chair pose twists and a few updogs. As soon as class started, however, I forgot what I had planned. I did all the twists, but put my knee down in side plank. I enjoyed the moment I was in, then moved on to the next one. If I wasn’t feeling it, I modified. It was a great, medium-energy-level practice.

I was selfish today. I did my own practice, not my teacher’s. I didn’t care if everyone saw me take child’s pose instead of half-moon. I didn’t beat myself up because I didn’t stay in crow pose as long as I usually do. My yoga, my practice, my time. Bliss.

moment

4 thoughts on “Enjoy the moment

  1. Jess says:

    Excellent. My yoga teacher always tells us in the beginning of practice to “come to our mats.” I love that feeling of “selfishness” where you and your body are all that matter for that hour or so. Thanks for sharing.

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks for reading! I think the best yoga teachers are the ones who remind us to think about why we’re practicing. It’s so easy to forget about ourselves. It’s a great feeling to remember why we’re there and to enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

