Just call me Kristy Yamaguchi

When I was a kid, I loved figure skating. I watched all kinds of competitions on tv and my parents even took my sister and I to see different shows, like the Icecapades and Stars on Ice. My favourite was always Kristy Yamaguchi. I wanted to be just like her. I even took figure skating lessons. Only for one year though. When it came to doing some of the faster, face-close-t0-the-ice thing, I changed my mind and took dance lessons.

Even though I’m not a famous figure skater, I still love to skate. I’m not exactly athletic, and it’s always been the only winter sport I do really well.

One of the good things about living near the capital is having access to the world’s largest skating rink. It’s a canal that connects the Ottawa river to Lake Ontario. Part of the canal that goes through the city is turned into a 7.8km skateway.

I love skating on the canal. There’s so much to see! I went yesterday and it was such a nice day out. I would have loved to take better pictures, but I didn’t take my new camera, just my little point and shoot.

001

002

003

004

There’s a festival going on called Winterlude. There are all sorts of activities and shows to attend. There are also ice sculptures, which are pretty amazing.

005

007

Sure, it’s cold and it snows a lot, but that’s winter. It’s staying for a while, so I might as well enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

