If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough

A while back, I saw that written over a picture of a girl doing a headstand and I thought “yes! This is exactly it. This is what I want.” I tell everyone that I’ll do a headstand one day. Any inversion, really, but the headstand is my goal.

However, I realized I talk a lot, but I don’t do much. I’m happy when we practice arm balances in class, because that’s where I need to start. But what about all the classes I go to that don’t have arm balances? Or the days when I don’t practice at all?

At the begining of the month, I wrote about challenges. I love a good challenge, but it has to mean something, it has to lead somewhere. That’s when I rememebered my headstand, and my arm balance challenge was born. It’s pretty simple. Do one arm balance pose a day. That’s it. Oh, and take a picture. Because I like pictures.

Sometimes, I can only hold the pose for the few seconds it takes for the picture to be taken. But that’s ok. It’s better than not doing anything at all.

Here’s what I’ve got so far.

February 3rd – crow pose

I started off with my favourite, because it’s the easiest for me.

IMG_0183

February 4th – side crow

In a skirt, no less.

IMG_0196

February 5th – Eight angle pose

In my bird dress and feather necklace (it’s a whole avian concept, in case you don’t get it). This pose needs a lot of work. I know you can’t see my feet, but I assure you they’re not on the ground. My arms are the only thing holding me up.

IMG_0206

February 6th – shoulder-pressing pose

I don’t like this picture. The angle is weird. But the only other picture I have from this day is me falling out of crow pose. I have a big bruise on my knee now. This pose is difficult because I always feel like either my arms are too short or my butt is too heavy. Let’s go with the arms. Also, my legs really are nowhere near my shoulders. something else to work on.

IMG_0239

February 7th – teddy bear headstand

I’m not sure if this is the actual name for this pose, but I like it. It’s cute.

IMG_0248

February 8th – crow pose

This is the crow pose that almost wasn’t. I forgot to do my pose of the day until I was going to bed, so I was tired and cranky. I could barely lift my toes up off the ground.

IMG_0268

February 9th – scissors pose

Again, not sure if this is the right name. It looks like my head is on the ground, but it’s not, it’s just my hair. I see the placement of my left arm is a little off. This one is hard, but it’s one of my favourites.

IMG_0289

I’m enjoying this challenge so far. Some days, I don’t really feel like it, but after I’ve done it, I feel really proud of myself, even if I fall over. I like taking pictures because it’s like a mirror. I can see exactly what I need to work on. It’s one thing to feel the pose, but sometimes, seeing it helps too.

9 thoughts on “If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough

  1. The Edmonton Tourist says:

    WOW I am super impressed! I want to do that! First I will work on my first goal which is to lose a truck load of weight, half way there! Then run a half marathon, training is going great. Then I will be lighter on the bottom end and have a fighting chance to do this. Very impressive!

  2. sophustanus says:

    Respect. I completely forgot that doing a headstand in yoga was one of my aims for this year… You’ve inspired me.

  3. MK says:

    This is awesome! I held crow for 5 seconds to day in yoga class (and even got a round of applause!). And I was brave and tried a handstand. It’s amazing what you can do with a little courage and a lot of practice.

Leave a Reply

