Dressember

I have a dress addiction. I’ve mentionned it before. There’s something special about dresses. They can be just as comfortable as sweats, especially if worn with leggings, but they are so much prettier! I like skirts as well, but dresses are my favourite.

Last week, I read about dressember. It’s like movember for girls. (But not really. Boys have a cause, girls doing dressember just want to feel pretty. Although some people use it as a fundraiser.)

The rules are pretty simple. Wear a dress every day in December. Post pictures. Now I’m not sure what the rules are about skirts. Some say no skirts. Some say skirts are ok, but only over dresses (which sounds dumb to me), and some say skirts are fine. I have some skirts I only wear around Christmas time, so I’m going with the “skirts are a-ok” part of the rules!

When I started, I wasn’t sure if I was going to commit, because 31 days is a long time. Also, it’s cold here in Canada. But so far, so good! I’m enjoying wearing all my dresses and trying to create new looks with pieces I already have. I’m trying really hard not to use this as an excuse to buy more dresses!

Here is a recap of my first week.

Day 1

Comfy sweatshirt-like dress for lunch and a movie. This picture was taken at Chapters, one of my favourite places ever!

Day 1

Day 2

Going to see a Christmas concert. It was raining, so the boots were not a great idea, but I didn’t want to wear heels in case I fell!

Day 2

Day 3

Some colour for my Monday morning. I just love this dress!

Day 3

Day 4

Just an ordinary Tuesday. The sun was definitely shining!

Day 4-

Day 5

We were doing a project on Van Gogh’s “Starry Nite” so of course I had to wear this dress. Also, I love these shoes. Photo by a student!

Day 5

Day 6

I was at a conference in Montreal. There are tunnels everywhere so I didn’t even have to go outside to get from my hotel to the conference center. I love these pink chairs.

Day 6

Day 7

Second day at the conference. Posing next to one of the many fireplaces.

Day 7

So there you have it, my first week of Dressember! I like the way it makes me feel, so I think I’ll keep going!

14 thoughts on “Dressember

Leave a Reply

