Teachers hate tests

I am a teacher and I love it. Most of the time. That time when I finally get everyone to settle down after eating a chocolate cupcake (bad idea, by the way, thanks so much to that “thoughtful” parent) and then one kid decides to teach the others some karate moves? Yeah, that’s not my favourite time. But when a kid says “oh I get it!” or is so into a book he can’t hear me call his name, then that’s a good time.

I’m a Montessori teacher. I believe in the philosophy and teaching methods completely, although I will admit that some lessons need updating, as they were created a century ago. I could go on and on about the Montessori method, but that would be a whole post unto itself!

What I really don’t like are tests. If I were a true Montessorian, I would not have to quiz my students or grade them. Alas, the province requires grades and report cards and a lot of my time. How awful is it to have to give a first grader a 72% in reading or even a 95% in math? Let me tell you. It’s terrible! Six year olds should not even know what grades are. Learning is fun and this just sucks the joy right out of it. Who cares if a kid gets 88% in writing, when the important thing is that she spent all morning writing a story called “The pink giraffe and her friends” (True story)

This is what I aim for, only I have to do it with tests. Ick.

 

There are other reasons why I hate report cards. They take endless hours to complete and I could be doing so many other things with my time. Here is a list of what I would rather be doing (if you’re a teacher, please feel free to add to the list).

– Finding my stapler

– Taking the September calendar down (in November)

– Cleaning the dried applesauce off the wall

– Taping books back together

– Organizing my storage closet

– Cleaning the lizard’s cage (and I hate doing this)

– Putting away those last 2 Halloween decorations I forgot

– Dusting off my “to do” pile

– Fixing my globe

– Getting the wobbly table fixed

Now you might think these are all “2 minute” tasks, and you’re right. My work life is a series of 2-minute moments. I have to choose wisely. I choose storytime over test time. Making the work stuff into fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

