Lock me up and throw away the key

Yesterday was day 2 of my 30 days of yoga challenge. Day 1 kind of kicked my butt, since I had not practiced in so long. My legs were feeling it (still are, actually) and I had a mild case of yoga brain. Well, I thought it was a mild case. Turns out it was a full blown attack!

If you’re not familiar with yoga brain, here is the short version: Yoga brain can be defined as a state of hazy bliss, following a yoga practice. The symptoms, which include forgetfulness, smiling and almost walking into traffic, usually appear after several days of consecutive yoga. However, a return to the practice, following a long absence, will usually result in extreme manisfestations of said symptoms.

Warning, people suffering from yoga brain look normal.

I was looking forward to class, I got there on time, chatted with the girls, then went into the locker room. Here is where the yoga brain took over. I got my mat, towel and water bottle, then put everything else in the locker, locked it and realized my key was inside the locker. The locked locker.

I told Edith, the teacher, and she said we could call someone after class and not to worry. I knew she was right , so I tried to forget about it. The first half of class was a yang style practice, so I flowed, downward dogged and upward dogged and basically tried not to fall over. My brain was pretty busy trying to keep up with my body, so I didn’t think much about the locker incident, as I started referring to it.

However, the second part of class was yin. Once I got in a pose and tried to let go, my brain had more time to wander and wonder if someone would actully come, it was a Sunday after all. I also realized I was not surprised I had done this, I was more surprised that it actually had not happened before. This is classic me, along with walking into walls, waving my arms around and hitting people when I talk and forgetting where I park my car.

I tried to enjoy the rest of class, as I really do like yin. Edith is a great teacher and I always leave her classes feeling happy. We did pigeon, and she said that we store feelings of hate in our hips, so we shouldn’t be surprised if some emotions came up. I thought this was a little silly. For about 10 seconds. After that, I wouldn’t say I felt hate, but I was thinking how dumb pigeon pose is and wondering why we couldn’t do a nice supine twist instead. The longer the pose lasted, the more ridiculous I thought pigeon was. Happily, when we came out of it, those negative thoughts went away and I felt great.

After class, Edith said she would try calling another student, who lives close to the studio and would probably have lock cutters. His number was nowhere to be found, however, and we thought we would have to call a locksmith. This was not good as I would surely have to wait, and pay lots of money for someone to destroy my lock and generally acknowledge what a spaz I was.

We decided to try walking over to see if the other student was home. He was, and he had lock cutters! Five minutes later, I was free! Well, my stuff was. I decided to have confidence in people and assume no one at the yoga studio is out to steal my stuff, so I’m not getting another lock. My brain has done this once, who knows how long it would take for it to happen again.

All’s well that ends well, but remember, beware of the yoga brain! It can strike at any time!

2 thoughts on “Lock me up and throw away the key

  1. Annie says:

    I was going to strongly recommend a combination lock. But then thought that perhaps yoga brain would eat that up as well. perhaps not a great option…. glad you were not stranded in ottawa too long!

Leave a Reply

