Dusting off my yoga mat

When summer vacation started, I was so excited to do yoga whenever I wanted to! No worries about being busy or tired. I could wake up whenever I wanted, and just go to class. Any class, any time.

The thing is, hot yoga is my thing. We go together like peanut butter and jelly. Like Ross and Rachel. Like sand and the ocean. But, think about it. What do summer and hot yoga have in common? They’re both hot! It was so hot that some days I couldn’t imagine going into a room that was hotter than the sauna that was summer.

I still practiced, but not as much as I thought I would. Then, for the past three weeks, I didn’t practice at all. Shocking, I know. I was in Cuba for a week, and while I did bring my mat and my best intentions with me, it was even hotter there than it was in the studio. Last Monday, I went back to work. I know I’m not going to get much sympathy here, but being productive all day, every day, after being on holidays for 8 weeks is hard!

This was the only yoga I did for three weeks.

Enter the Be The Change Challenge. I decided to participate in an amazing 30-day challenge that started today. I thought I was commiting to at least 10 minutes of yoga a day, but turns out it’s any form of physical activity. I think I’m going to stick with yoga, because that’s what I signed up for. It’s also more motivating and will probably be more of a challenge.

My first class was with Megan, which was perfect, since she’s the mastermind behind the amazingness that will be September. It was a vinyasa flow class and it was hard. Well, for me it was. My knees cracked about 36 times and I had to sit out some of the vinyasas because my wrists and palms were screaming “Enough with the downward dogs!” As challenging as it was, it felt great to jump back in. I loved getting sweaty and I tried to encourage my body, saying “It’s not so bad, you remember how to do this, don’t wimp out on me!”

I won’t be able to go to class every day, but that’s ok. September is a busy month at work, because back-to-school time is always chaotic. Getting through a school day with small children is very demanding, and I don’t want to add unnecessary stress to that. I’ll do classes when I can, and home practice when I need it.

It’s going to be a great September!

3 thoughts on “Dusting off my yoga mat

    • The Bliss Project says:

      I used to be intimidated by it too, but now I couldn’t live without it! When you try it, go to 2 or 3 classes before you make up your mind about it. The first time can be kind of a shock, but after that, it gets better. Also, drink lots of water the day you go, you’ll sweat it all out and more. It’s an amzing feeling!

      • the usual bliss says:

        I feel like as long as I’m ok with being the person who needs to take a break on the wall in the back of class for a few minutes, I’ll be ok. I think I have to ease into it but I do have tons of friends who LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

