Garden Spells

My mom grew up on a farm. No one “farms” it now, but she and her brothers and sisters still own the land. My mom and my aunts plant a huge garden every year. It’s enormous! They plant the regular stuff like carrots, potatoes, tomatoes and cucumbers and also more interesting things like asparagus, beets, chard and parsnips. I use the word interesting here instead of saying “things I won’t eat”. They also have huge patches of pumpkins, squash and melons.

On Saturday, my mom and I went over to the farm to check on the garden. Groundhogs eat some of the vegetables and deer really like the melons. Last year, one of them ate a few bites out of almost all the melons. Not the brightest crayon in the box.

It’s still a baby garden, meaning not much is ready yet. The beets are ready. Interesting. The potatoes are also ready. Score! I got some to bring home. I even helped to weed, although most of it had been done already. The garden is bigger than it looks in the pictures. I couldn’t get it all in.

My aunt was there with her granddaughter and we had fun chilling on the tractor. She kept trying to turn the key. That little girl knows what she’s doing!

The title for this post was inspired by one of my favourite books by Sarah Addison Allen. It’s about family, love, magic and a tree that throws apples at people. You really should read it! 

One thought on “Garden Spells

Leave a Reply

