Beach day

I went to the beach with my sister today. I lay in the sun, reading my book. I went swimming for the first time this summer and the water was actually warmer that I thought it would be. My biggest decision of the day was Do I want a cookie or a cracker? Sophie, my sister, and I eventually got over the traumatizing event of wearing a swimsuit out in public for the first time, and we had a fabulous day.

Sophie and her fabulous hat.

Reading my very funny book.

A synchronized foot-flip pose.


I love everything about the beach. The smell of sunblock, the sand between my toes, the picnics, the first contact of the water on my feet, the drive home with the windows open, just as the light is going soft.  I love how everything gets sandy and my hair smells like sunshine.

Today was like a preview of what’s to come. I love my job as a teacher very much, but I need the break. I feel like I have nothing left to give. In two weeks, I will be off for the whole summer. I can have as many beach days as I want, preferably with my sister or other wonderful people. I can smell the summer holidays and I love it!

5 thoughts on “Beach day

  1. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    Oh man, jealous of your beach day! It’s definitely not warm enough here to do that (who knows if it ever will be, lol). Enjoy the last two weeks of school – you’ve definitely earned a break!

Leave a Reply

