Aerial adventures

Today was the last field trip of the school year with my students. We went to an “aerial adventutre park”. There were zip lines, ladders, ropes, wires and all kinds of looks-like-fun-but-also-really-scary-stuff.

We were the last class to go up, so first we went on a nature walk. I was so happy to get these city kids out into the woods, because this is what they were saying:

I think I have poison ivy.

Do you think we’ll get attacked by a beaver?

The mud is all dirty.

I think that’s a bear. Oh no, it’s a rock.

They should really clean it up here. There are rocks and leaves everywhere.

What’s the green stuff on the rocks?

Are we there yet? (We weren’t going anywhere. It was a nature walk.)

But then we got to a place with frogs and tadpoles, so they were amazed and stopped asking why the path was muddy.

After lunch, we played soccer, volleyball and practiced our handstands.

Finally, it was our turn to go up. I have never been zip lining or any of that crazy stuff up in trees. Don’t get me wrong, I like climbing trees, but this involved a harness, those clip things and heights. Since it was the kids park, it wasn’t super high, but I’d say it was at least 8 or 9 feet up, sometimes higher. I told myself that if 6 to 9 year olds were doing this, then so could I!

Once I got used to clipping myself to trees and got over the fact that I was up in the air, I had a great time! It was all kid-size, so sometimes I had to crouch and this tube thing was a little tight.

Yes, that’s my butt hanging out between the tubes. I wasn’t stuck. I was resting.

I loved all of it until I got to the ziplines. Then, I wasn’t so sure I wanted to do it. I actually considered climbing back down. Actually, I could have jumped off the platform, that’s how close to the ground I was. I figured I might as well suck it up and do it, otherwise my students might tease me.

I love how they’re following my progress. They were cheering too.

It was a great day. I’m exhausted. One little girl fell asleep on the bus on the way back to school.

I think I am now ready for the “grown-up” aerial park. I can’t wait until summer!

2 thoughts on “Aerial adventures

  1. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    This looks so fun! I’ve never done anything like it before because I’ve not had the opportunity, but I’d love to climb around in the trees and go zip lining (as long as it wasn’t too high!).

    • The Bliss Project says:

      It was a lot of fun! If you do get the chance to try it out, you’ll have a great time! It really wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. However, all of this is based on my experience in a kid’s park, so I’ll have to let you know how it goes when I try the grown-up one!

Leave a Reply

