Frog feet

After dinner I went for what was supposed to be a run, but turned out to be just a walk. My ankle has been hurting lately, making me think maybe I need to look into those weird shoes with the toes that make your feet look like frog feet. From what I’ve heard, people who had all kinds of aches and pains while running don’t have them with these funny looking toe-shoes.

I don’t see a difference.

I’ve been finding it very hard to motivate myself lately. I’m tired after work and all I want to do is sit on the couch and watch the food network. Maybe if I had new running shoes…

After I finally got my butt out of it’s groove on the couch, I went to Leamy Lake, which is just a 5 minute drive from my place. I thought it might rain, because it was really windy and the leaves were turning, but it was fine.

The first thing I saw when I got there were Canada geese. They even had baby geese! Goslings, I think. I got as close as I dared to take a picture, but those are scary animals, all beaks and long necks and weird honking noises. You don’t want to mess with them. They’re not very smart either. Once, I had to stop on the highway because one genius decided to walk across 4 lanes. He was in no hurry, just slowly making his way to the other side.

After the excitement with the geese, I walked around the lake. It’s really a bike path, so there are all these kids on skateboards zooming around and making me freak out because I think they’re going to fly off their skateboard, hit their head on a tree and fall into the lake. Then I’ll have to go in to save them, and it’s swampy and gross. None of them wear helmets. Makes me feel old.

Lovely bike path/dangerous skateboard accident waiting to happen.

Any tips on the frog feet shoes? Yes? No? Have they changed your life? Made you feel like you were a frog who can run? (Because really, I don’t think frogs run. They hop. Or climb trees. Or swim.) Thanks!

15 thoughts on “Frog feet

  1. hgwright215 says:

    Hmm. I’ve never worn those shoes, but I know a few people who go running barefoot (almost the same thing, right?) and they love it. Kudos on going for a walk when all you wanted to do was relax!! I have the same problem.

  2. A Nature Mom says:

    I love my Vibrams! I don’t care about all the funny looks I get from people, as my body feels so much better in them than in my traditional running shoes. But it took me a few months to get to that point!

      • A Nature Mom says:

        Only my calves. It took my calves a few months to adjust, so I had to lower my mileage substantially at first and slowly increase. But before I switched to the minimalist shoes (I also wear the Merrel version), I had pain in my right hip and lower back, which went away immediately.

      • imaginationinparenting says:

        Thank you so much for the reply — I do have pain in my right hip as well right now — something to consider for sure. thanks!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      I tried some on today and it took me a while to get my toes in the right spots! I have a crooked toe, so that didn’t help! I did like the way it felt though. I think I’ll do a little more reaserch before I get a pair.

      • A Nature Mom says:

        The first time I tried them on at the store, it took me something like twenty minutes to get my toes in! By the third time, my toes were trained and went straight in.

  3. imaginationinparenting says:

    I have a friend who has them and he said that it engages different muscles — and so it’s a big ‘learning curve’ (not learning curve, more adjustment i suppose?) I too would love to try them – though my ankles aren’t sore. I just think it might be a fabulous feeling to ‘run barefeet’. and I just got back to running really — I just realized this morning that while I feel like I JUST ran… I haven’t since SUNDAY. where does the time go??? I wish I had access to beautiful paths like you do… I have to drive quite a bit for anything like that. and while I LOVE the forest (sooooo much) I’m not a fan of being ‘deep in the woods’ on my very own. we have bears and coyote and stuff.I almost hit a coyote while driving on Wednesday!!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      I tried on a pair today, it feels funny at first, but I think I could get used to it!
      I’m glad there are no coyotes where I run (there very well may be, but I,m telling myself it’s not possible)! There are always lots of people around, so I guess that’s a wildlife repellent!

  4. Green Thumb Mama says:

    My Vibrams changed everything for me. As you’ve been reading. Worth the investment (they are spendy) for pain free running and a lifetime of no injuries. 🙂

    • The Bliss Project says:

      I have been reading about them on your blog, that’s part of the reason I decided to consider getting a pair! I don’t like feet, so I always thought they looked really strange, but I’m willing to overlook that for running with pain in my ankle!

      • Green Thumb Mama says:

        There are so many other brands, just research them and try some on. I’m sure you’ll find some you like! 🙂

  5. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I love that those Vibrams are such a bright colour. They’d definitely attract attention. I’ve never tried them but I’d be interested to hear what you think if you invest in a pair! Honestly I’ve only ever heard good things.

    • The Bliss Project says:

      I tried on a bright pink pair today! I tried on blue ones too, but pink was better, obviously! I haven’t decided what model I want, but I do want to get a pair. I’ll let you know when I start to run like a superhero!

Leave a Reply

