Trail running

Sometimes I think I’m not a real runner. Other days, I’m convinced I can run circles around anyone. Well, around turtles or squirrels or really slow rabbits. Today was an I-am-awesome-and-I-will-kick-ass-and-no-one-can-stop-me day. Never mind that my legs are still feeling the effects of Sunday’s 108 sun salutations or that my ankle has been feeling funny.

I’ve been trying to do a 30 x 30 challenge, where I spend 30 minutes a day in nature for 30 days. So far, not so good. It’s been raining a lot and I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to running in the pouring rain. I’m not so girly or fluffy that I can’t handle a little drizzle, but when it’s coming down in sheets, I mean really, what’s the fun in that?

Today was sunny, so I decided not to waste it. Well, to be honest, I almost did. I came home and crashed on the couch after work. I was watching a show about people trying to lose weight and I thought “Why are you watching people excercise instead of doing it yourself?”

I headed out to Pink Lake to run along the path that circles the lake. There are a lot of stairs.

Stairs going up.

Stairs going down.

I decided to run the trails and walk the stairs. When I came to the first set of stairs, I thought “I’m sure I can run up.” So I did. Then I walked along the path clutching at trees and branches to keep from falling over as I tried to breathe for about 10 minutes. The sad (crazy?) thing is, as soon as I could breathe, I did it again. I proceeded to make my way around the lake this way. I think I scared two old ladies. Better me than a bear.

Trying to breathe.

It was beautiful out there, even though about a third of the way through, the mosquitoes found me. The sun was still out, but it wasn’t too hot. Perfect for a trail run/stair climb/stagger around the lake.

I even saw a turtle. His name was Walter. He was just floating in the water with his head sticking out. I asked him to turn around for a better picture, but he was camera shy. This is the best I got. I know, not great. Blame Walter, not me.

And now, as I write this, it’s starting to pour outside. Makes me happy I went out while the sun was shining!

8 thoughts on “Trail running

  1. imaginationinparenting says:

    fyi squirrels run FAST in wakefield.
    your comment about the old ladies made me laugh out loud…. 🙂
    I love pink lake – though i haven’t been all the way around in years — with the kidis we go left and turn around quick enough – i hate (fear) stairs and doing them with a kid (or three) hanging off me is not my idea of fun. i’d rather run in the rain 😉 (i ran on the treadmill this week. i like running in the rain, but like you — not when it’s pouring. and windy. seriously, pick ONE element at a time mother nature, please.) I also prefer when the rain starts after i’ve been running. setting out to rain when it’s pouring rain… not so much fun.
    There’s a nice trail opposite the lake (through the parking) at pink lake as well — we go there sometimes, but again, with littles with me — we don’t go super far… I find it reminds me of the camp forest more so than lots of the gatineau park!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Haha – Wakefield squirrels!
      If you want to go to Pink Lake with your kids, I would love to go with you, that way, some of them can hang off of me!
      Last time I went there, Suzanne and I wandered into the other trail a little, but not very far. Maybe I’ll try that one next time. Does it loop around? I hate having to turn around! Once, when I was at my parents for the weekend, I started running towards the bridge and told my mom “come pick me up in 45 minutes” so I wouldn’t have to turn around!

  2. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    Love it! I probably would have run up the stairs too. They are too inviting not to!
    You’re doing very well with your 30×30 challenge so far.

    • erinHasThoughts says:

      This is AWESOME!! 30/30! I love it! Are you just spending time in nature, or always doing runs? Either way its great! And yes, walking the stairs is probably a good idea…i mean, if it were me, I’d probably fall on my face! LOL

      • The Bliss Project says:

        So far, it’s mostly been running, but I think sitting on a patio will work just as well!
        Next time, I will probably tell myself to walk up the stairs….but then I’ll be all “I’m a stair superhero!” and I’ll run, thus having the same gasping for air, hanging onto a branch so I don’t fall over experience. Hopefully, there will be less gasping and more breathing like a normal person the more I do it! That, or I’ll fall in the lake. 🙂

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Haha! The stairs are inviting and there’s always that part of me that’s all “You can do it, you can do it, you can do it!” I’m also enjoying my challenge more than I thought. I still don’t go out in the pouring rain, but it’s not as difficult as I thought to go outside every day.

    • The Bliss Project says:

      There is something quite soothing about running near water. That way, when I’m gasping for breath after running up crazy amounts of stairs, at least I have something pretty to look at!

Leave a Reply

