My tree pose obsession

Tonight I went to a class with Natalie, who is not only my favourite teacher, but one of my favourite people as well! My friend Suzanne and I have decided to make this a standing date because if we wait until the day of, one of us usually can’t make it. It was such a great class! It’s a beginner class, but even though I’m not a beginner, it’s not easy. We did balancing poses while standing on a block. See, not easy.

This got me thinking about tree pose. It’s my favourite balancing posture. If you’ve been reading any of my posts about yoga, you might have noticed that I really like tree pose. I’ve been doing it since I was a kid, before I knew what tree pose was. Just hanging out, doing the dishes, talking on the phone (back when the phone was on the wall and you had to stand in one spot). My sister does it too.

I thought I would share my obsession. Sharing is caring. Several of these pictures, I’ve posted before, but never all together.

Tree pose in the water. Yes, that’s me. My hair colour changes often.

Tree pose on the roof of the cottage. That’s my dad and my uncle fixing something.

Tree pose on the dock. Added challenge, the dock was leaning to one side.

Tree pose in a tree. Yes, I’m leaning on the branch. It wasn’t too steady up there.

Tree pose on a log. My eyes are closed. There were bugs, maybe that’s why.

Bikram tree pose. Why is it different?

Tree pose with Amber and Julie. Humm, I always stand on my right leg.

So you see, it’s always the right time for tree pose. If you’re having a bad day, break out the tree pose. I promise, you’ll feel awesome, even if you fall!

8 thoughts on “My tree pose obsession

  1. Green Thumb Mama says:

    Love all those pictures. Tree pose is very hard for me. I had some damage done to my inner ear years ago due to a medication and got Labyrinthitis. Ever since then, my balance has always had issues. I always fall over in tree pose.

      • Green Thumb Mama says:

        I always fall over during balance poses and I get mad at myself. Then I remember that yoga is not about perfection and I just try again. 🙂

  2. Queen Gen says:

    I’m not a fan of yoga, but you’ve reminded me that actually, I pose like a tree when I’m sad or tired or sooky. It isn’t like your tree pose. I can’t balance because I’m clumsy and have no balance. But I raise my arms and sort of let my hands flop, like the branches of a tree. Sometimes I say “I’m a tree”. It almost always makes me feel better to be a tree.

  3. Aleksandra says:

    Yoga in nature! That’s gotta feel amazing. I was just biking the other day and discovered a nice mountain in the forest preserve nearby. I decided to call it Yoga Mountain. I’m taking my mat there next week. It’s got a view of the forest, the highway, and half the city. Absolutely breathing and perfect spot to meditate. Take care!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Yoga outside is amazing! Yoga mountain sounds blissful. It sounds like the perfect place to practice! My suggestion: take pictures. That way, every time you look at them, you’ll remember how happy you felt at that moment!

Leave a Reply

