Summer couscous happiness

Ever have one of those days where you bring your lunch to work, then you look forward to eating it all morning? I had one of those days today! I made a couscous salad last night for dinner and I had leftovers for lunch today. I am very proud of this recipe, because it’s the first (and only, actually) recipe that I’ve come up with on my own. And not just “I have a recipe for spaghetti sauce” kind of thing. I tried different ingredients, quantities and everything. I even wrote it down so I can make it taste the same every time. It’s that good. It tastes like summer.

Citrus couscous salad

Ingredients

– 2 cups couscous

– 1 1/2 cups orange juice

– 1 boneless chicken breast

– 1/2 cup sesame seeds

– 1 cucumber

– 2 large oranges

– 6 tbs olive oil

– 3 tbs lemon juice

– 3 tbs orange juice

– zest of 1 lemon

– salt and pepper

1. Bring orange juice to a boil. Remove from heat and add couscous. Stir, cover and set aside for 5 minutes.

2. Cut chicken breast into bite-size pieces and coat with sesame seeds. I like to put the sesame seeds in a bag, throw the chicken pieces in, and shake it up. The seeds will stick to the chicken. Cook in 2 tbs olive oil. (I like to use lemon-infused olive oil, but plain works fine.)

3. Peel and cut oranges in small pieces. I like to take off the white bits too.

4. Cut cucumber into small pieces. I usually leave the peel on, as I like the crunch, but the one I used yesterday was not so pretty.

5. Let couscous and chicken cool.

6. In a small bowl, mix olive oil, orange juice and lemon juice with lemon zest. Add salt and pepper to taste. I know I said 3 tbs of each juice, but really, go with what you like. You want about 1/4 cup of dressing.

7. In a large bowl, mix everything together. (Trust me, go big. You’ll avoid a mess.)

It’s best to let it sit for a while in the fridge, until everything gets cold. However, if you are starving when you make it, like I was, have a small bowl right away and come back later for more! It makes a lot, so you have plenty for your lunch the next day. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Summer couscous happiness

Leave a Reply

