Yoga withdrawal

Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve been to a yoga class? Well, actually, just a few hours. But before that? A week! One whole week. That’s like 6 months in dog years (or something). I’ve been fighting a cold and I’m still sniffling and coughing, but nothing could keep me away tonight. You see, I have been going through yoga withdrawal.

This is a very serious condition that happens when you go from doing yoga several times a week to not a all. There are certain signs to look out for.

1. You start doing yoga poses in random places.

– Tree pose while doing the dishes.

– Warrior 1 and 2 while standing at the copy machine.

– Dancer while hanging out in the park.

2. You become very impatient.

– At work.

– While driving.

– While watching random reality shows.

3. You feel like something is missing.

– That’s because something is missing. It’s called yoga.

So tonight, I decided I’d had enough. While my heart might have been in it for a hot flow class, there was no way my body would follow. I decided to go to a yin class. The best yin class ever, actually.

I picked up my friend Julie and I was so excited to be going to class that I could not stop smiling. Also, Julie and I were wearing the same top, which was not planned, but still fun.

When we got to the studio, I was still pretty hyper. I smiled and told everyone how excited I was to be there. Ichih, the teacher, told me she was excited that I was so excited. Happiness is definitely contagious.

The class was wonderful. It was exactly what I needed. It was yin, so no forcing or holding, but still challenging. A true yoga hug!

I think I used being sick as an excuse to be a little lazy. There were a few days where it would have been impossible for me to go class, but I think I might have felt better sooner if I had done more yoga. Also, I could have avoided the awful yoga withdrawal. Be careful, it could happen to you!

3 thoughts on “Yoga withdrawal

  1. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I have a cold at the moment too, and working out (or going to yoga) feels like it would be way too much work. But if you can do it, maybe I can too!

Leave a Reply

