Through the looking glass

Today I went to a beginner yoga class. My friend Suzanne is starting her yoga experience, and I like to encourage her by going to class with her. Also, I enjoy spending time with her! It doesn’t hurt that I love this class, because it’s with Natalie. I love, love, love Natalie and her classes! The class was in a room with no mirrors.

I really enjoy the beginner class because it reminds me how each pose is supposed to feel. Everything moves slowly, so you have time to focus on every movement. During one posture (due to the yoga brain, I can’t remember what it was) Natalie said it was a posture where a mirror would be helpful. That’s when I realized how much I rely on mirrors during my practice.

I like mirrors during yoga class. I can check out my awesome tree pose, wave to my friends when I flip my dog and follow the teacher if she moves around. However, yoga is about how you feel, not how you look. Sometimes, instead of feeling my pose, I look at my reflexion to make sure it’s right.

Short of facing the other way during class, which I’m sure the teachers would love, I will usually see what I’m doing. I think the important thing is to find a balance between looking and feeling.

Also, there’s something very “Through the looking glass” about being in a room full of your own reflexion. I love it!

2 thoughts on “Through the looking glass

  1. Sam @ Fit for my Fork says:

    I like doing yoga in a room with mirrors too… maybe for my own vanity, but usually it makes me do the pose properly. I don’t realize until I see myself that my back’s not straight or my hip isn’t forward enough or I’m bending my back leg or whatever!

Leave a Reply

