Porcupine spine

This weekend was the first weekend during my 30 day yoga challenge where I didn’t have 12 million different things to do. I had no plans, except for yoga. No birthdays, no sewing to do, no family dinners, no plans with friends. Nothing. I was excited. I’m not antisocial or anything, but the thought of having 2 days to myself was pure bliss.

Saturday, I went to a vinyasa flow class with Julie and another friend. It was a good class, even though I had very little energy. Afterwards, we got lattes and walked around for a little while. When I got home, it was 1 pm. The whole afternoon stretched out in front of me with nothing I had to do.

I decided to start reading a new book. I love to read, but for the past 28 days, I haven’t been reading much.  I’m always tired or sweaty or something just need to get done and I don’t have the time or desire to crack open a book. I am a huge Alice Hoffman fan, and I bought The Dovekeepers a few weeks ago, so I started on that.

I read for part of the afternoon, then decided to go outside and do other things. But what I read stayed with me. I thought it would be a good idea to go to bed early this weekend, because I’ve been running on very little sleep, but I wanted to read a little more. Well, I read untill 1 am. The book is that good.

I finally got some sleep, but ended up in some weird position that made my back sore. When I got up this morning, I felt stiff. I was glad I was going to a yin class.

When I got to class, Edith said we would be focusing on our spine. I swear, that girl can read my mind. I had an oh yes/oh no moment when she said this, however. Oh yes because I knew I would feel better afterwards and oh no because I felt like a porcupine lying on its back, and feeling better was going to start by feeling worse.

This is how I felt this morning. Would you want to lie back on this? I tried to find a picture of a porcupine lying on its back, but apparently, they’re too smart to do that.

I hung out in rag doll, got my sphinx on, chilled out in supported fish, did some squat thing I don’t know the name of, suffered through dragonfly, tried to get my toes to touch the ground without bending my knees in plow and relaxed in happy baby pose. I also did this weird twist with my stomach on a block. Strangely enough, it felt great.

I came out of class feeling like I had just gotten a massage. I am a porcupine no longer.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a book to read.

6 thoughts on “Porcupine spine

  1. Navi says:

    Haha! I love it! Somehow it’s easier for me to get into the toes-on-the-floor plow pose than to get OUT of it, which is sadly the most important part…. keep blogging about the 30-day yoga challenge, I want to hear all about it!!!!

Leave a Reply

