Sing your heart out

I am lucky enough to have daily doses of bliss at work. I’m a teacher, and every day is an adventure. Sure, last week I tried to sell my students on facebook (As a joke, of course. That kind of thing is frowned upon.), but most days, something will happen to make me feel like the most important person in a small person’s life for that moment.

Today was a great example. Since October, I’ve been working with my students, who are 6 to 9 years old, on a musical. We’ve been singing, dancing and acting every week for months, all to prepare for one big show. Today was the day. The play was “Lili peur de rien” which translates to “Lili’s not afraid of anything“. The kids were flowers, animals, children, a witch and a dragon. I can’t say the whole day was pure bliss, because there’s only so much over-excitement one person can take, but watching them perform on stage tonight, each one of them feeling like a star, made all the practicing, the sewing, the same songs being heard over and over again and repeating “speak loudly” several times a day, worth it a million times over.

I haven’t done yoga today yet, but it doesn’t matter. Yes, today is day 24 of my 30 day yoga challenge (I think), but my day was about so much more than yoga. I’m giving myself 20-30 minutes of practice before I crash on the couch.

Also, I tend to go a little crazy with costumes when I put on a play with my students. This year, I made 2 dresses and a squirrel costume. The other costumes were from previous plays I’ve done. I drove myself nuts making costumes while doing a yoga challenge, but I did complete number 37 on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days: Make a dress. Sure, I thought I would make myself a dress, but two kid-size dresses equals one me-size dress.

I’m exhausted, I’m happy and I have a song about a witch stuck in my head. I got flowers from the kids. One mother wrote me a note saying “Thanks for being a part of my daughter’s happiness.” I’d say these are signs of a great day.

5 thoughts on “Sing your heart out

  1. Hil says:

    No pun intended on you going nuts about a squirrel costume right Manon – you make me smile 🙂 – you’re changing the world.. one squirrel, witch, flower, dragon at a time 🙂 xox!!

  2. Sam says:

    This is such a lovely post. And I’m so glad that some of the parents recognized all your hard work too. You’ve really made a difference to those kids!

Leave a Reply

