Fearless flow

Over the weekend, I was talking about my yoga classes with my mom, and I mentioned that during a lot of classes, the teachers will say “Now is the time, if you are able, to do a headstand or a handstand.” It think that’s great, for those who know how to do inversions, but what about the rest of us? I doubted I could do it, but I would be willing to try. However, this is not something you can just start doing all alone in your living room. You need to know the proper way to get in and out of these poses. I decided I would ask the girls at the studio about this.

Then, yesterday, as I was looking at the schedule for the day, I decided to try one of the classes I can’t normally attend because I’m at work. (woohoo, day off!) I noticed something called fearless flow. It’s a class designed to get you into inversions! Just goes to show you, if you want something, you only have to ask for it. Actually, I didn’t ask, but whatever.

We learned how to do a headstand, which looks like this.

I looked more like this.

Actually, that’s not true. At least the kitty has both legs off the ground. I could either have my head touch the ground or have my legs straight, but not both at the same time. I felt like my arms, shoulders and head were very weak. I didn’t know my head could feel weak, but there’s a first time for everything. Just to clarify, I felt weak like I couldn’t support my weight, not weak like I was scared to try. I was very willing to go upside down, but my body said “No thanks, not today.”

I probably looked more like this. I’m not sure, because at some point, I stopped looking in the mirror.

I was a little disappointed, because even though I knew I wouldn’t get it on the first try, part of me secretly hoped I would. I need to work on my upper body strength, but one day, I will flip upside down. I am fearless!

4 thoughts on “Fearless flow

  1. Madhu says:

    I do everything, I mean everything, my yoga instructor tells me to do except the head stand! I stop at the point where my toes barely caress the mat. She says its all in the mind. i say I don’t need a broken neck at my age.

Leave a Reply

