Yoga brain

This morning, when I got to the yoga studio, I realized I forgot to register for class. Julie forgot her pass. The girl who came in behind us forgot her mat. This is what is known as yoga brain.

Usually, the symptoms will appear after a yoga class, but in some cases, if you have been doing yoga several days in a row, like maybe 19, the yoga brain will be an ongoing condition.

When you leave a yoga class, you might feel kind of spaced out, drained, extremely happy, tired, wired, energized or slow, depending on what kind of class you attended. These are all symptoms of yoga brain.

These are the possible side effets:

– When leaving class, you will turn to say something to the person beside you, and you will walk into a tree.

– You might cross the street without really looking. Be careful. You don’t want your yoga brain to get you squashed by a car.

– You might forget to pay your phone bill and jump out of bed in the middle of the night to pay it. In the morning, you will realize you have now payed the same bill twice. To be fair, I’ve done this before, so I’m not sure I can blame the yoga brain.

Other conditions associated with yoga brain are:

– Yoga muscles.

– Yoga hair.

– Yoga toes.

Yoga brain also has some positive side effects:

– During class, when the teacher suggests you climb onto a block to launch yourself into crow, you will think “What a great idea” instead of “What?! Are you crazy?” Then, you might actually stay in crow pose for 3 seconds. A new record.

– You will smile more.

– You might feel like a superhero.

To protect all those who live with yoga brain daily, Julie and I thought it would be a good idea for yoga studios to put up big yellow road signs that say “Yogis crossing”.

I couldn’t find a picture of one, but I think if we replace the birds with yogis on this one, it might work.

There is no cure for yoga brain, so just enjoy it and do more yoga!

10 thoughts on “Yoga brain

  1. Suzanne says:

    You are so funny. I mean, I already knew this about you but now everyone on the internet knows just how funny you are. And awesome. And you are a superhero…19 days woot woot go you!
    This message has been brought to you by your equally awesome (but no so yogi) friend 🙂

  2. Kath Thompson says:

    Oh man! Totally loved this post, and totally relate! I definitely think the Dept. of Transportation in every state should start making those “Yogis Crossing” signs you suggest. Brilliant idea. PLUS, it could really save lives! I often ask my students as they leave class all blissed out: “You okay to drive?” I am sure most of them could be cited for D.U.I.Y (Driving Under the Influence of Yoga).
    Love your posts!

  3. Jennifer @ Flowtation Devices says:

    LOL! Kundalini yoga is even worse, because I swear all the intense breathing and chanting puts me in another dimension, and there have been classes where I had to sit and chill out before getting behind the wheel. Actually, I probably could have just left the car at the studio and floated home… 🙂

Leave a Reply

