Yoga marathon on the surface of the sun

One day. Hot yoga. Two classes. Oh yeah!

When we first started this 30 day yoga challenge, Julie and I decided that we would do yoga every day. However, if we had to miss a day, we would do two classes on another day. I haven’t missed any classes yet, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to practice on Easter Sunday, so today was a 2-class day. We even took the day off for this. Yeah, that’s right. We mean business.

This is us before our first class. The only non-sweaty picture of the day.

Our first class was hot power flow. It was at Pure, which I love, but it was with a new teacher. Meeting a new teacher is kind of like going on a blind date. You’re never really sure what you’re going to get. Within 3 minutes, I found myself in standing splits. Well, to be fair, it was more like a standing right angle. I still wasn’t sure about the new teacher at this point. But, as the class went on, I found myself more and more interested in what he had to say. Also, we did some really cool stuff. Todd had us place blocks under our hands and push ourselves up with our legs crossed and try to swing back. There is probably a name for this, but whatever it is, I like it. I will definitely go to Todd’s class again.

The first class of the day was a hit. We came out sweaty, happy and energized.

After the first class, we went to Satrbucks for lunch. I don’t know what you’re supposed to eat between two hot yoga classes, but I had a tomato and cheese panini and a chai latte. Then, we wandered around Chapters and I bought a book. I have lots of books, some of which I haven’t read yet, but I really, really like books.

Then it was time for our second class. Bikram. I had never done a bikram class before, so I was quite nervous. I was a little worried about the heat. When people talk about bikram, they always mention how hot it is. Fortunately, I’ve been doing hot yoga a lot lately, so it felt fine. I knew that in a bikram class, you do 26 postures twice. That’s pretty much all I knew. I thought about reading up on it before class, but I decided it was better to go in blind, so I wouldn’t freak myself out.

These are the 26 postures. Sometimes, I would forget that we had to do them twice.

We went to a different studio for this class and the teacher was a little military like. Right shoulder forward! Left shoulder back! Lean forward! Arms close to your ears! Breathe! Tall spine! Eyes open! You can never close your eyes during this class. Even though he was loud, he explained everything very clearly. Out of all the standing postures, I liked tree pose the most. Probably because I’m good at it. If I were a very enlightened and evolved yogi, I would say that I enjoyed standing bow, because it was a challenge, and challenges make us grow and learn about ourselves. I still liked tree pose.

I was happy when the standing postures were done. I surprised myself by being able to do the fixed firm pose (20), even though my knees were a little far apart. And camel pose (22), which I can sometimes do, just wasn’t working for me today. All in all, I really liked it. I don’t know if I’ll become a true bikram yogi, but I will definitely try it again.

I wanted one more picture after the bikram class, kind of like proof that we did it. Since I liked tree pose so much, we did that. But Julie doesn’t really like it as much as I do.

You’ll notice the wardrobe change. Once a girl guide, always a girl guide. (Our motto was “Be prepared.”)

I had an amazing day! I even found myself saying out loud “Today is great. I love today.”

6 thoughts on “Yoga marathon on the surface of the sun

Leave a Reply

