Beginner yoga

Yesterday, on day 10 of my challenge, I went to a beginner yoga class. I convinced my friend Suzanne to come to a yoga class with me last year, and she enjoyed it. Ever since then, we’ve been meaning to go to another class, but it just never happened. When I heard about this beginner class, I told Suzanne we just had to make it, because it was with Natalie. Natalie is definitely one of my favorite yoga teachers. She makes me feel good about myself, and about yoga. There’s no better person to start your yoga journey with.

I had such a great time. It’s pretty special to witness a room full of people experience yoga for the first time. It almost made me wish I was a beginner again! Discovering that your body can move in ways you didn’t think possible is great. It was also interesting for me to see how far I’ve come since I started practicing.

We did some cat/cow stretches, some breathing and even a modified sun salutation. There were a few tougher poses too, like warrior three.

At the end of class, the woman next to me was amazed at herself. She had never done yoga before and she said she felt so much more relaxed and aware of her body.

I tried to think back to my first yoga class. It was about 12 years ago. I chose the yoga option instead of gym in college, and I wasn’t very impressed. I liked it somewhat, but not enough to keep practicing once the semester was over. It was only 6 years ago that I went back to it and started practicing regularly. Now, I can’t imagine my life without yoga!

4 thoughts on “Beginner yoga

  1. Suzanne says:

    Today, my body hurts a little bit and I’m thinking it was the yoga. But not in a painful way, more like a “wow, I must have stretched really well in yoga” good kinda way. Thanks again for suggesting it!

  2. Cindy Cummings says:

    I’ve been wanting to try yoga for a while now but haven’t committed. What exactly is it, is it just fancy stretching?! What are the benefits?

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Hi Cindy,
      There’s nothing fancy about yoga! It is stretching, but it’s really a lot more than that. There’s a lot of focus on your breathing. You learn poses and how to link them to your breath. It sounds kind of flaky, but it’s really great. It’s a good workout and some classes are faster-paced, so you get a good cardio workout too. If you ever want to try a class, I’ll go with you!

Leave a Reply

