What I learned after a week of yoga

This morning I went to a yin class at Pure. It was the perfect class to stretch my muscles out from yesterday’s 108 sun salutations. My teacher was Edith. It seemed like everything she said was directed at me. I was feeling grumpy and she talked about love and kindness. I was sick several days during the week, and she said we would be focusing our poses and our energy on our liver and gallblader, which is where I have problems. Then, at the end of class, she sang. A lot of teachers chant, but this was in another category all together. I’m not sure what it meant, because it was probably in sanskrit, but it was beautiful.

It was also day 7 of my 30 day challenge, which means I have completed number 86 on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days, “Do yoga every day for one week.” I can’t believe my week-long challenge has turned into a month-long challenge! I’ve learned so much during the past week. I thought I would share a few things that you will need to know if you decide to take on a challenge like this.

– You will notice a weird smell. It’s your mat. It smells like feet.

– You will stop doing the dishes.

– You will run out of milk and not go to the store to buy more. You will try cream in your tea, but that too will have gone bad.

– You will do lots of laundry because all your clothes is sweaty and smelly.

– You will not have many conversations that don’t have the word “yoga” in them.

– You will stop watching tv.

– You will start saying things like “I have yoga hair.”

– You will eat less junk food because why would you cancel out an hour of core flow with a bag of chips? (This does not apply to the junk food I ate at the movies last night.)

Most of all, you will be happy you decided to do this challenge with a friend, otherwise you might not have gotten past day 1!

13 thoughts on “What I learned after a week of yoga

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks for the great comment Karen! You’re right, it is a wonderful feeling to feel like the whole class was designed just for you! I have seen that video, and I love it! It’s actually where I got the “yoga hair” comment from. My friend Julie and I used to say it to each other as a joke, but now it’s true!

  1. Janeybird says:

    Thanks for the inspiration and insights! You’re very ambitious… my yoga quest is one year, but with yoga once a week (minimum). I totally already get what you mean about yoga hair and the mats. I’ve started using the places’ mats and spraying them down good. haha! Yeehaw! And namaste…

  2. kateecurtis says:

    Hahaha – I have thought ALL of these things in my time as a totally obsessed yogini. Love it. 🙂 I am literally spending all my money on Dunkin Donuts coffee because I never have milk anymore.

Leave a Reply

