The Bliss Project

Like most people, I have a list of things that make me happy: books, yoga, my job, anything pink, babies, sweets, traveling, family, friends, dancing. I have spent many happy hours browsing at Chapters with a Starbucks latte thinking to myself “This is the best!” Ok, who am I kidding, it’s not browsing, it’s shopping! I always buy something. I love my work as a teacher. I watch flashmob videos on youtube when I need to smile and I even participated in one last summer. I have a great family, wonderful friends. Life is good.

Then, one day, I started thinking about all the things I don’t do. What if I was missing out? What if, somewhere out in the world, was something that would bring me true bliss? I always thought I knew what I liked and what I didn’t. But what if I don’t?

I decided to do something completely out of the ordinary and like nothing I’d ever done before. I signed up for a triathlon. I barely knew how to swim, so I had a friend teach me. I borrowed my little sister’s bike and bought a bike helmet. I started running with a goal in mind, not just for fun. Then, the day of the event, I did it! Just like that. I did a triathlon. I never imagined I would do it, let alone love it! From that moment, I was hooked. Not on triathlons, but on trying new things.

Since then, I’ve tried hoop-dancing, aerial silks, hip-hop dancing and snowboarding. I’ve run a 5k.  I’ve been inside a free-falling simulator. I’ve written a list of 101 things to do in 1001 days. I’ve been doing lot of these things with my friend Julie and we have a facebook photo album called “Manon and Julie’s amazing athletic adventures”. I am discovering new things about myself every day. Sometimes I try something new and once is enough, and sometimes I feel like I’ve discovered something better than chocolate, like I did with snowboarding.

And so this is my bliss project: to try as many new things as I can, because life’s too short not too. I might discover a new passion, or I might not. The point is to try.

13 thoughts on “The Bliss Project

  1. imaginationinparenting says:

    YES!!! Very excited you’re blogging about your very cool adventures 🙂 Est-ce que tu vas partager ta liste de 101 chose? c’est quand la fin de ton 1001 jours? en passant, y’a une course 5k a wakefield (même un 10k ou un 20k trails!) le 5 mai si ça te tente! (http://wakefieldrun.webs.com/) xo

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow! You motivated me. I get stuck in thinking I need to sign up for something and make a committment for the long term but I like how you try lots of new things just to do it and then move onto something else. I am going to do this too – I guess I used to sort of approach life like this but now I am going to re-ignite it again – its about the fun after all – isn’t it?

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Hi Lisa,
      I’m happy you’re feeling motivated! You’re right, it is about having fun! I always tell myself I’ll try something once, then I’ll decide if I like it or not. If you commit before you try, there’s so much pressure! Have fun trying new things. Let me know how it goes!

  3. Jane Bird says:

    Thanks for sharing your positive and inspiring “bliss project” with us! I just started my yoga quest blog – i love your approach. Yeehaw! Namaste 🙂

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I started writing as a way to record everything and because I like to talk, but I’m so happy people are inspired by what I have to say! I would love to read your blog too!

  4. Britney Lee says:

    this is so inspiring to me! i am a person that feels the same way you described in the beginning. i am content…but how do i know if i’m missing out on something? you have inspired me!! i am going to try new things as often as i can now!

    • The Bliss Project says:

      Hi! thanks so much for your comment. I haven’t been here in a while, so I’m sorry it took forever to respond. I’m so happy you felt inspired! Have you tried anything new? Make any awesome discoveries? Keep exploring, there is so much to experience! xxx

      • Britney Lee says:

        there isn’t anything grand that i’ve tried but i have been keeping an open mind to things. i usually shut things down right away cause “i don’t like them” but i don’t really know if i don’t…like with food. i’ve been trying new flavors and not ordering the same things all the time. i’m glad you are back! i want to see more posts from you!

Leave a Reply

