Pura Vida

12 Mar

You know that feeling, when everything is exactly as it’s supposed to be and you’re exactly where you should be? It doesn’t come around very often, but last week, while I was in Costa Rica, I felt it. After only two days, I knew I belonged there. It just felt right. I’m not ready to give up my whole life and move there, just yet, but I am already planning my next trip. A girl can easily get hooked on the feeling of knowing she is where she is meant to be.

002

I can no more cover my whole trip, even though it was only a week, in one post, than I could count the books I’ve read. It’s impossible, there’s too much magic to squeeze in to one little post. I’m not even sure I can find the words to express the wonder, the joy, the excitement that this adventure brought me. But I will try.

Costa Rica 201

I stayed at a place called Peace Retreat Costa Rica. People say Disneyland is the happiest place on earth, but I’m guessing they haven’t been to Peace Retreat yet. It’s owned and run by Hali and Kevin, two Canadians who moved their life and family down to this happy, beautiful, peaceful corner of Costa Rica. The place is amazing, but it’s their light and love that make it shine.

Costa Rica 301

Peace Retreat is located in the village of Los Pargos, which, I learned from a Tico, is slang for lazy people. I didn’t meet anyone I would call lazy, but the slow, easygoing way of life was definitely appealing. There’s a beach, called Playa Negra, and it draws surfers to it, like bookstores lure me in, like a mermaid calling to the sailors.

Costa Rica 013

The village is pretty remote, so it’s not a big tourist attraction. I loved that, even though, technically, I was a tourist. I say technically, because in my heart, I knew I belonged there, and when you belong, you’re not a tourist, are you? There are dirt roads and people regularly stop and ask you if you need a ride. No one wears shoes. Everyone smiles. No one says “I have a deadline” or “I’d love to, but I have to do all this work I brought home”. I’m not saying people’s lives there are perfect, because I’m sure they’re not. We all have our issues, but to an outsider, it all looked pretty amazing.

IMG_0129

I did yoga, learned how to surf and picked a lemon from a tree. I saw lizards, monkeys and I almost saw¬†a crocodile. (I was happy I didn’t!) I took a stand up paddleboard tour through the mangroves, heard the monkeys every morning before the sun came up and got myself a custom made bikini (pink, of course). I went to Tamarindo, tried to do a handstand on the beach and leapt into the air every time someone said “Jump shot!”.

Costa Rica 151

Pura Vida means pure life. Life at it’s purest form should be, in my opinion, joy. And that’s what I found in Costa Rica. Joy. Bliss. Happiness.

Costa Rica 351

4 Responses to “Pura Vida”

  1. Julie March 12, 2014 at 8:39 pm #

    Love this!! I want to visit! It’s always hard writing after an amazing vacation. You have so much to say, show people. Love the pictures!

    • The Bliss Project March 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks! It is so hard to write about it. There are so many little things that were awesome, it’s not easy to pick just a few to write about. That’s why I’ve decided to break it up into more than one post, that way I can keep writing about it for a while :)

  2. Suzanne March 12, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

    aww, love the pictures! And can’t wait to hear more about this amazing place. Take me with you next time!

    • The Bliss Project March 16, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

      I can’t wait to tell you all about it! Also, I’m planning on going back in July, if you’d like to join me….!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

