Book to movie challenge

16 Feb

In January, somewhere in the wonder that is blogland, I found this post. It’s a book to movie challenge. Basically, you read a book, then see the movie and review both. Is there anything more fantastic than this? I think not. There are different levels to the challenge.

Movie Fan – read 3 books and watch their movies
Movie Devotee – read 6 books and watch their movies
Movie Lover – read 9 books and watch their movies
Movie Aficionado – read 12 books and watch their movies
Movie Auteur – read 24 books and watch their movies

I think I’m going to go with movie devotee, so six books. You can change levels at any time, so I can always move up.

I’m not going to stick with movies coming out this year or books I read this year. For example, I read Gone Girl last year, and the movie is coming out this year, so it will probably make the list. Also, I just read Stardust, and I want to watch the movie. Both came out several years ago, but they are new to me, so they will make the list also. I might do a few books-to-tv-shows as well.

I’ve read and reviewed Divergent, by Veronica Roth, but I’m going to wait until I see the movie so I can post both reviews together. These are several books-to-movies that I hope to review this year.

Serena, by Ron Rash

The fault in our Stars, by John Green

Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn

Orange is the new black, Piper Kerman

If you have any good books to suggest, please do! (Even if there’s no movie coming out. I’m always on the lookout for good book recommendations!)

poster3

10 Responses to “Book to movie challenge”

  1. DoingDewey February 16, 2014 at 11:31 am #

    I loved the movie version of Stardust, so I’m hoping to go back and read the book this year too :) I thought Anna Karenina was fantastic as both a book and a movie (the new one last year), so if you’re at all interested, it’s one I’d recommend for your list. Thanks for joining the book to movie challenge!

    • The Bliss Project February 16, 2014 at 11:40 am #

      I’ve tried reading Anna Karenina several times, but I can’t seem to get into it. I do want to see the movie though, so maybe that will be my motivation for trying the book again :)

      Thank you for hosting this challenge, it’s awesome! I’m so glad I found it. Yesterday, I saw Vampire Academy, but I haven’t read the book yet, so I might do a movie-then-book post about that one!

  2. AlysaLovely February 16, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    HUNGAR GAMES!!!!!!! ;)

    The Silver Linings Playbook, The Vow, Marley & Me, and then there’s any of the Nicholas Sparks books/movies -> The Notebook, A Walk To Remember, The Last Song, etc :)

    • The Bliss Project February 21, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

      I’ve read the Hunger Games! I loved the series and so far, the movies are pretty good too! I read that they’re making the last book into two movies, which bugs me a little, but on the bright side, there will be two more movies to see!

      I’ve seen The Silver Linings playbook, but haven’t read the book, so I could do a reverse review on that one! I haven’t read or seen the Vow, but I want to, so I’ll add it to the list!

      Thanks for the suggestions! :)

      • AlysaLovely February 22, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

        That’s how I did it with Silver Linings Playbook, too! I didn’t realize it was a book until I saw it in the store.. and since I liked the movie, I had to read it :) I almost like the book better!

  3. love2read365 February 17, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    I think the Stardust movie is even better than the book (but I saw the movie first, so that might have influenced my decision), so I definitely recommend the film. I was disappointed by Serena by Ron Rash. I saw that the film will star Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, so I had high expectations. After reading the book, I can’t imagine why those actors wanted to be a part of the film. I really enjoyed Gone Girl too, so I read Dark Places and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. They’re all great–dark–but great! I’m also hoping to read The Fault in Our Stars–so many people have raved about it.

    • The Bliss Project February 21, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

      I’m looking forward to watching Stardust. I haven’t seen it yet because I want to write my review of the book first, and I haven’t gotten around to it yet!

      A friend had the same reaction to Serena, so my expectations are not too high. A film with Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper can’t be bad, so I’m still hoping for a good movie!

      I almost bought The Fault in our Stars to read on a trip I’m taking, but I don’t expect it to be light and happy, so I’ll save it for later. Although, to be honest, the books I did get are not light or happy. I bought Anna dressed in blood and Alice in Zombieland. I’m going to a yoga retreat, where I expect I’ll be the only one reading about killer ghosts.

  4. Sophie February 18, 2014 at 9:32 am #

    Manny, read Life of Pi. Then when can watch the movie together!

    • The Bliss Project February 18, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

      Soph, je l’ai lu! Il nous reste juste à voir le film! xx

  5. Mary Kathryn February 22, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    Chocolat! Both are very magical in their own ways.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 375 other followers

