I heart dresses!

15 Feb

I’m always impressed by fashion bloggers. They can take one dress and wear it 14 different ways. They can make jeans look fancy and an evening gown look casual. I’m not particularly fashion-y.  Fashion seems like a lot of work. You have to know what colours are “in” and what 80’s looks are good and which are bad (to me they’re all bad. It’s a been there, done that kind of thing.) You will never catch me wearing anything with a peplum, but I understand that’s fashionable. Or it was, maybe it isn’t anymore. See? So much work.

I think I’ve created my personal style, but everyone does that, whether we want to or not. What you wear becomes your style. I tend to favour dresses. I love them for several reasons. Here is a list, because I like lists.

Reasons dresses are awesome

1. They make me feel pretty.

2. It’s only one piece of clothing to choose and put on.

3. Jeans (and most pants) hate me.

When I put together an outfit I love, I will wear it that way over and over again. I will wait at least two weeks before wearing it again, but if it was awesome when I wore it, why would I change it up?

Since Valentine’s day was on Friday, and I have several dresses that could have worked, I decided to do a theme week. Nothing too out there with flashing heart headbands and ribbons or anything, just Valentine’s day inspired dresses.

Day 1

I love this dress (Obviously. I love all my dresses.) One of my students told me I should have saved it for Valentine’s day, so I told her my plan. Of course, she thought it was brilliant.

valentine's day 1

Day 2

While I don’t have one favourite dress, this one is always described as “one of my favourites”. Also, hearts. Love.

IMG_5659

Day 3

This was an “I’m sick and I do not want to get up and put on clothes and talk to people” day. I wasn’t feeling great about this look, it felt unfinished (maybe it’s my inner fashionista trying to get out). When I got to school, one of the six year old boys in my class said “Wow! You’re so pretty. You look like a ladybug.” Who needs high fashion when you’re compared to the loveliest insect in the world?

IMG_5661

Day 4

This is an awful photo. I actually hate it when people write that, because if it’s such a bad picture, then why did you post it? In my case, it’s the only one I had as I was still sick and in no mood to take pictures. I set the camera lower than usual so my tights would be in the picture since they’re the star here, but it’s got a weird “I’m looking you up and down” vibe to it. Oh well, pretty tights, comfy dress.

IMG_5664

Day 5

My official Valentine’s day dress! I actually ordered this dress in November to wear on Christmas eve, but I only received it in January. I didn’t think it would be so shiny, which makes it more or less appropriate for work, but whatever. It’s pretty and that’s all that matters.

Valentine's day

If you look at my Dressember post, you will notice that most of these dresses have been worn in the exact same way before. Like I said, why mess with a good thing?

And now, for your viewing pleasure, some dress bloopers. Because we all love it when other people look funny.

Well, the zoom works.

Well, the zoom works.

This photo tells the story of a bird trying to fly. Unfortunately, she's a chicken, so she's not going anywhere because chickens can't fly.

This photo tells the story of a bird trying to fly. Unfortunately, she’s a chicken, so she’s not going anywhere because chickens can’t fly.

Did you know giraffes sleep standing up?

Did you know giraffes sleep standing up?

6 Responses to “I heart dresses!”

  1. Suzanne February 15, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

    Hahaha, those bloopers are hilarious. I cannot stop laughing at the chicken comment. But also, that heart pretty is super cute, love it!

    • The Bliss Project February 16, 2014 at 11:37 am #

      Haha, I sometimes write things and post them without rereading them. That chicken comment is so silly, I probably wouldn’t have left it there, but I’m glad I did!

  2. AlysaLovely February 15, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    I am in love with all of these dresses,and also your pretty pink walls!! Such a great post <3

    • The Bliss Project February 16, 2014 at 11:38 am #

      Thank you! I love dresses, there’s nothing better! The pink walls are in my living room. I thought I might get tired of the colour after a while, but I still love it. Just walking into the room makes me happy!

  3. mariahelena (@phdplaylist) February 16, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

    I love your fabulous dresses! (And the chicken comment. Epic!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blue and green | The Bliss Project - May 7, 2014

    […] That’s a nice scarf!” He’s the same kid who once told me I looked like a ladybug, so I think he notices some […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 375 other followers

